UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Title Column In Sharepoint List, SharePoint 2013    
 
   
blueman2
post Oct 10 2019, 09:10 AM
Post#1



Posts: 228
Joined: 15-November 14



Sharepoint's created a Title Column which they are showing as "Required". I don't think I can get rid of the column and I'm only concerned about what it means within Access. I don't care if it shows in the sharepoint list online. But being as though it's "required", can I just create the other columns I need for my Access DB and ignore it? Or should I use this column for some of the data I need for this table and just rename it somehow?

Thanks


Running the latest version of Access from Office 365
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 10 2019, 09:45 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,379
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. How did you create the List in the first place? If you create a custom list, you can add any column you want and SharePoint won't add a Title column for you.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
blueman2
post Oct 10 2019, 10:25 AM
Post#3



Posts: 228
Joined: 15-November 14



Hi DB,

Since I have the latest version of Access now, which has some options I didn't have before, I decided to use the following (below) from the Create Menu:
It seemed to work fine other than that column. Even when I used to create it first within Sharepoint, unwanted columns were always created which I never used in any Access procedures so they were just ignored. However, what threw me was the "Required" designation which I don't recall. I was able to rename and re-designate the ID column, so that is all worked out as this procedure simply created a column called "ID". It's just this one other column that bothers me, unless i just ignore it or use it and rename it. Also, to be clear, I have all the other columns I need which were created on Sharepoint. I was wondering if I need to rename the title column to one of the ones I created. Either that or ignore it. I don't think deleting it is possible.


Creating a new SharePoint list
If you want to create a SharePoint list on the server, one that the SharePoint administrators and developers didn't already create, you can do so from within Access. To create a new SharePoint list, follow these steps:

Click the Ribbon's Create tab, and then click the SharePoint Lists command in the Table group.
Access displays a menu of choices.
SharePoint provides five types of lists you can create.
Contacts: Creates a contacts list when you want to manage information about people that your team works with, such as customers or partners.
Tasks: Creates a tasks list when you want to track a group of work items that you or your team needs to complete.
Issues: Creates an issues list when you want to manage issues or problems. You can assign, prioritize, and follow the progress of issues from start to finish.
Events: Creates an events list when you want a calendar-based view of upcoming meetings, deadlines, and other important events.
Custom: Creates a custom list when you want to specify your own columns.
Each option walks you through the steps of creating a new SharePoint list. If you choose Contacts, the Create New List dialog box for a Contacts list appears.
Specify the location of the SharePoint server in the Specify a Site text box.
This typically looks like any other URL for an Internet site. You'll need to get this information from your SharePoint administrator or from your SharePoint hosting site. After you specify a site in Access, it appears in the list of Site Addresses when you create and manage these lists.
Specify a name for the list in the Specify a Name for the New List text box.
If you're creating a catalog of products for your company, you can give the list a name, such as Catalog.
Enter a description for the new list.
Don't be too wordy, but type something that will be meaningful to others using this new list.
After you enter in all the information for the new list, click OK.
Access shows a login screen for the SharePoint server you specified in the Create New List dialog box.
Enter the username and password for this SharePoint site, and then click OK.
If you selected the Open the List when Finished option, the new list appears in the Access window - as well as a linked table in the Navigation pane.
After you create the SharePoint list from Access, you can add and modify data just as you would with any other local or linked table. The changes you make will be accessible to anyone else with access to the SharePoint site.

To make changes to the design of the SharePoint list, right-click the table name in the Navigation pane and choose More options → Modify Columns and Settings from the pop-up menu. The Customize page on the SharePoint site loads in a new browser window in which you use the SharePoint tools to modify the list's structure.
This post has been edited by blueman2: Oct 10 2019, 10:37 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 10 2019, 10:59 AM
Post#4


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,379
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. Okay, I think I see what you mean. I tried going through the steps and created a Custom List. I see that SharePoint automatically created the Title column, but I was able to go to SharePoint List Settings and change the Required option to Not Required. So, maybe you could do the same thing. If it was marked as Required and you simply ignore it, does SharePoint not prompt you for data?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
blueman2
post Oct 10 2019, 11:38 AM
Post#5



Posts: 228
Joined: 15-November 14



I don't know but I'm going to test that shortly. Will get back to you Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 10 2019, 02:38 PM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 35,844
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


If you can’t eliminate or modify the field to not be required, can you set a benign default value which you can safely ignore?

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
blueman2
post Oct 10 2019, 07:25 PM
Post#7



Posts: 228
Joined: 15-November 14



Sorry guys.

I didn't really have a chance to test all those things, I had to get this done so I ended up doing what I should have done which was to create the list in sharepoint and link it when I was done into access.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 11 2019, 10:09 PM
Post#8


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,379
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. Glad to hear you got it sorted out. Good luck with your project.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    15th October 2019 - 04:40 AM