UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Moving Data From One Db To Another, Access 2007    

KathCobb
post Oct 11 2019, 11:14 AM
Post#1

I have two databases with exactly the same structure. I need to move specific records from the one database and send them into the other. I've never done this before and am very nervous. I am assuming the easiest way is an append query (which I have also never used), I am ok with first copying the data and then deleting it after its successfully loaded into the other DB. I have the proper delete query's for that action already. I'm basically just looking for advice on how to go about it. Its about 3,000 records stored across numerous tables (clients and policies sold to the clients by one specific sales agent). The basics, such as city table, companies and policies types are all in their own tables in both DBs and should have all the same information.

I know backup - backup - backup before trying anything, but any other advice or methods to use would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kathy

--------------------
I'm just a beginner...take pity on me.
Go to the top of the page

arnelgp
post Oct 11 2019, 11:27 AM
Post#2

to Insert record from Current database to Another database:

CurrentDb.Execute "INSERT INTO TableNameInAnotherDB IN 'Path\FilenameOfOtherDB.accdb' SELECT * FROM TableInThisDB;"

--------------------
Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching.

GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 11 2019, 11:47 AM
Post#3

UA Admin

It is likely that an external query reference like that would be most efficient, especially for a one off merge. However, if this is something you'll need to do repeatedly, we ought to step back and look at other considerations as well.