UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Add Notes Form, Access 2016    
 
   
BrittBikes
post Jun 30 2020, 08:41 AM
Post#1



Posts: 19
Joined: 5-June 20



Hi! I am back again. I have created a database to track clients, client invoices, and other client data. I have created a form that allows the user to update client data. In this form I have created a button that takes the user to a separate form to fill out notes for the client. I created the form rather than a textbox because the user can enter multiple notes for the client and I want these displayed in a subform in the main Edit Client Data form. I have two things that I need this function to do: 1.) I need the notes button to auto populate the client name to the client that the user is editing and 2.) Once the note is entered I need the subform in the Edit Client Data form to automatically refresh. The subform and main form (Edit Client Data) are linked based on Client_Name. Your help is appreciated!

I should add that all tables/queries are related based on Client ID.
This post has been edited by BrittBikes: Jun 30 2020, 08:45 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 30 2020, 09:40 AM
Post#2


UA Moderator
Posts: 78,463
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. You could also use a form/subform setup for your popup form. And to refresh the main form, you can issue a Requery by referring to that form. For example:

Forms!FormName.Requery

or

Forms!FormName.Form.Requery


--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
BrittBikes
post Jun 30 2020, 11:44 AM
Post#3



Posts: 19
Joined: 5-June 20



Sorry, I am pretty new at access, where would I insert the requery code?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 30 2020, 12:37 PM
Post#4


UA Moderator
Posts: 78,463
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


For example, you can put it in the Close event of the popup form.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    7th July 2020 - 10:33 AM